What Is The Heart Chakra: Location, Color, Meaning, Themes

What Is The Heart Chakra?

The Heart Chakra is the fourth chakra or ‘energy center’ within our 7 primary chakras (or seven major energy centers).  It’s located in the centre of the chest just above the heart.    The hands are also an extension of our Heart Chakra.   This is why a ‘mothers touch’ is both healing and comforting as it is a direct extension of the energy flowing from the Heart Chakra.


The Heart Chakra is the ‘bridge’ or ‘midway point’ between the lower and higher vibrational chakras.   

The Heart Chakra mediates, balances and transmutes the energies and activities of the seven major chakras.   Therefore, if your Heart Chakra is unbalanced there is a good chance other chakras are too. 

Our Heart Chakra relates to challenges in the areas of love, courage, inner peace, compassion, acceptance, trust, jealousy and betrayal.

Sanskrit: अनाहत – Anāhata (Infinite Sound)

The original Sanskrit word for the Heart Chakra is Anāhata and when translated means; Infinite Sound.

This is such a beautiful meaning because I’m sure you’ve heard the phrase: “Listen to your heart.” However, what most of us are not aware of is the deeper meaning behind these words.


You see, when the Heart Chakra is balanced we can hear behind the noise of society, behind our minds chattering and hear the Anāhata or infinite sound of this Universe, the eternal vibration of consciousness.

So, when you’re told to ‘listen’ to your heart, you’re really being told to silence the mind and listen for the quiet voice of Universal Consciousness, the Source of your True Self.

You’ll see, when you ‘follow your heart’ you always walk the right path (whether it appears that way or not). Simply because you’re getting the answers from a much higher vibrational place. You’re plugging directly into the very fabric of universal consciousness itself.

So, next time you hear the words: “Follow your heart”, remember the true meaning behind these ever-so simple words.

Themes of the Heart Chakra:

  • Courage
  • Love
  • Inner Peace
  • Compassion
  • Acceptance
  • Trust
  • Jealousy
  • Betrayal

Heart Chakra Color:

The colors commonly associated with the Heart Chakra are GREEN. Discover how to use the color Green to re-balance or heal your Heart Chakra.

Heart Chakra Element:

The element commonly associated with the Heart Chakra is AIR. Discover how to use the element of Air to re-balance or heal your Heart Chakra.

Heart Chakra Tanmatra:

The Tanmatra (essence / subtle potential) commonly associated with the Heart Chakra is TOUCH.

Heart Chakra Bījā Mantra:

The bījā mantra or seed sound associated with the Heart Chakra is यं Yaṃ (Pronounced ‘Yahm’). Discover how to use the sacred mantra of यं Yaṃ to re-balance or heal your Heart Chakra.


Heart Chakra Physical Associations:

  • Heart
  • Circulatory and pulmonary activities
  • Thymus gland
  • Immune system
  • Tissue regeneration
  • Assimilation of nutrients

On a physical level, the Heart Chakra is naturally linked to the heart and it’s associated circulatory and pulmonary activities.

The Heart Chakra is associated with the thymus gland (which is said to produce the hormone thymosin, which stimulates the development of disease-fighting T cells) and to our entire immune system.   

So, if you always feel prone to infection or it doesn’t take much for you to pick up bugs around the place then you quite possibly need to concentrate on strengthening your Heart Chakra.

The Heart Chakra is also linked to the processes of tissue regeneration and it supports the Solar Plexus Chakra with the assimilation of nutrients throughout our system. 

Heart Chakra Psychic Associations:

If awakened correctly, the Heart Chakra can enhance our innate healing abilities and our ability to see the deeper forces (auric energies) at work within plants, animals, ourselves and others.


How Do You Know If Your Heart Chakra Is Underactive, Overactive or Balanced?

Do you want to discover if your Heart Chakra (your 4th Energy Center) energies are overactive, underactive or balanced?   

Then, be sure to read; Simple Signs Your Heart Chakra Is Underactive, Overactive or Balanced, so you can be sure you’re applying the right remedy, for the right imbalance.

You May Be Interested In...